Community Policing

An initiative by

Bengaluru City Police

in partnership with

Janaagraha Centre for

Citizenship & Democracy

Community Policing is a philosophy & organisational strategy of police to work closely with community in creative ways

to check crime, illicit drugs, fear of crime, physical and social disorder, neighbourhood decay, and overall quality of life in the community.

Community Policing focuses on community engagement through the delivery of police services that include aspects of traditional law enforcement as well as prevention and problem-solving.

Community policing requires the police and citizens to join together as partners. It is an approach, wherein community support and interaction helps prevent & control crime

Community Policing is in 18 Police Stations

Community policing in Bengaluru was launched in June 2013, as a pilot across seven police stations, one per division and post its success eleven more police stations have been added gradually.

  • Ashoknagar Police Station

    Mayahhol Hall,Commissariat Road,
    Ashok Nagar,Bengaluru,
    Karnataka 560047
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: Vijay Hadgali
  • Banaswadi Police Station

    5th Main Road, 3rd Cross Road, Kalyan Nagar,
    Near Electricity Complaint Office,
    Bengaluru, Karnataka 560043
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: Munikrishna D V
  • JP Nagar Police Station

    21st Main Rd, Phase 2, J P Nagar,
    Karnataka 560078
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: M S Hitendra
  • Jnanabharathi Police Station

    Mutharayana Nagar, Jnana Bharathi,
    Karnataka 560056
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: H V Parmesh
  • Madivala Police Station

    Hosur Road,
    Bangalore - 560068
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: M S Bolettina
  • Rajagopalanagar Police Station

    137, Rajagopalanagar Main Road,
    3rd Cross, KG Nagar, Laggere,
    Bengaluru, Karnataka 560086
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: Mithun shilpi
  • Yelahanka Police Station

    No.1993, Mother Dairy Road,
    HIG, B Sector, K.H.B, Yelahanka,
    Bengaluru, Karnataka 560064
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: Manje Gowda A G
  • HAL Police Station

    HAL Airport Rd, Reddypalya,
    Jyothi Nagar, Bengaluru,
    Karnataka 560017
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: Sadiq pasha
  • Kamakshipalya Police Station

    Near Government School, Magadi Main Road,
    Kamakshipalya, Basaveshwara Nagar,
    Bengaluru, Karnataka 560079
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: M R Harish
  • Kodigehalli Police Station

    No. 9, Virupakshapura,
    Thindlu Main Road, Kodigehalli,
    Bangalore - 560092
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: Sathish
  • K R Puram Police Station

    K.R Puram Market, K.R Puram,
    Karnataka 560036
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: H Jayaraj
  • Mico Layout Police Station

    Udipi Garden Down, 16 Main, Mico Layout,
    Near-Water Tank, Btm Layout,
    Bengaluru, Karnataka 560068
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: Shekar BK
  • Ramamurthy Nagar Police Station

    2nd F Cross Rd, East of NGEF Layout,
    Kasturi Nagar, Bengaluru,
    Karnataka 560016
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: Chandradhara S R
  • Tilak Nagar Police Station

    Swagath Rd, Jayanagar 3 East Block,
    Jayanagar, Bengaluru,
    Karnataka 560041
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: Tanveer
  • Yelahanka New Town Police Station

    22/A , B street, near new town club,
    Yelahanka new town
    Bangalore - 560064
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: V.S Shivakumar
  • Mahadevpura Police Station

    White field Main Road, Singainapalya
    Bangalore, Karnataka
    Pin Code:-560048
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: M Manjunath
  • HSR Layout Police Station

    HSR Layout , Sector 1,
    Bangalore, Karnataka Pin Code-560102
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: D R Nagaraj
  • CK Acchukattu

    8th Cross Rd, Vidyapeeta Layout,
    Banashankari 3rd Stage,
    Open 24 hours

    SHO: T T Krishna

Area Suraksha Mitras

Currently we have 555 Area suraksha Mitras across all the police stations.

Who should be member?

Any Indian citizen above 25 years of age, residing in the Police station area & willing to dedicate 4-5 Hours in a week for the safety & security of his / her neighbourhood can become an Area Suraksha Mitra (ASM).

Professionals of any background

They could be professionals like Doctors, Engineers, Advocates, Teachers, Govt employees, retired people, housewives, & businessmen with varied educational backgrounds - ensuring good representation across all strata of society.

Between 30 & 50 members per Police Station

The Samithi should consists of 30 to 50 members and also minimum of five to six ASMs per beat, distributed evenly across the beat.

Participation with Police on Patrol

Participate in night patrolling, getting to know new residents and keeping note of strangers

Help conduct programmes on different levels

Help conduct Beat level and organised level awareness programs in their respective beat; organising counselling sessions to resolve family disorder, drinking habits etc

Every ASM replaced once every 2 years

Once in two years 1/3rd of the ASMs across all stations are replaced. If the ASMs are inactive and not attended more than three consecutive programmes/meetings, they are also replaced.

Highlights of Community Policing

Get more information on Community Policing